World Saxophone Congress 2012, St Andrews, Scotland


Rico Time will feature up-and-coming saxophonists from around the world performing music about which they are passionate. Each musician will bring individual interests to the event, the emphasis of which is contemporary music.

Rico Time at St. Andrews will conclude with the world premiere performance of the newly commissioned ensemble work ‘eight panels’ by renowned British composer James Saunders.


Ellipsos Saxophone Quartet
Le Bal by Thierry Escaich

Joonatan Rautiola
Tracce for alto saxophone by Luca Francesconi

Duo Hevans
Eleri Ann Evans - tenor saxophone & Henri Bok - bass clarinet
Lévy Flights by Chris Dench
(World Premiere)

Lars Mlekusch
The Angel of Despair II by Hiroyuki Itoh

Zzyzx Saxophone Quartet
Untitled new work, 1st Movement, by John Mackey
(World Premiere)

Clement Himbert and Sylvain Rifflet
Double by Himbert/Rifflet

eight panels by James Saunders 
(World Premiere)

"eight panels is a sequence of dense multiphonics chords, each with one common pitch. It draws on my interest in monochrome painting, particularly that of Marcia Hafif, and the way that an apparent single colour comprises a depth of richly layered tones and paint textures. eight panels was commissioned by Rico for the 2012 World Saxophone Congress."
James Saunders, 2012


Philippe Braquart
Eleri Ann Evans
Jean-Denis Michat
Lars Mlekusch
Henrique Portovedo
Joonatan Rautiola
Javier Valerio
Stacy Wilson


Artwork supplied by Macintyre Art. Site designed and produced by Leopard Rock Design - All content is copyright by LRD
The World Saxophone Congress is is kindly supported by:

D'Adarrio logoVandoren logoRico logoUnistage logoEvent Scotland logo